Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Man may not Live by Bread Alone…

on December 13, 2012

…but this recipe will surely tempt you to try!

Finished Loaves

Don’t they look YUMMY?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me sing it’s praise really quickly.

  • It’s no knead.
  • It’s super fast to prepare. Throw the 4-5* ingredients in a bowl and stir it up.
  • It’s very hands off after that – as in, you mix it up and go to bed.
  • It’s doesn’t require any kneading.
  • It bakes, depending on how you decide to do it, up in 20 to 45 minutes.
  • It tastes AMAZING.
  • And there’s no. Doggone. KNEADING! (I’m either very lazy or waaaaaaay into efficiency – judge me all you like, it works for me and my family.)

I use the recipe linked above. Sometimes I make it up in the covered dish** the way that Ms. Laura does. Generally, though, I’m making it for us to use for sandwiches. It has a flavor that the whole family likes – unlike most of the bread recipes I’ve tried to date. :p

If you, too, want to try it for sandwiches, double the recipe. I use 2 c. of whole wheat flour and 4 c. of unbleached all purpose flour. The next morning (or, should you want to bake it up before bed, get the dough started first thing in the morning), when you turn it out onto your floured surface, use a long serrated knife, and cut it into three equal parts, like so:

Double batch cut apart

Okay, okay…these are nowhere near equal – but they still tasted great! 🙂

Instead of preheating one covered bowl** to bake it in, you can just use three bread pans or 1 bread pan and 1 9″ x  13″ casserole dish.

When you adjust the recipe for three loaves *and* you bake them in an uncovered dish, you are not going to be baking them as long. My loaves are usually done after 20 minutes. Sometimes, if I really mess up the sizing and one is *much* bigger than the others, I’ll have to pop it back in the oven for another 10 minutes.

Make sure that each loaf measures at least 165* internally and then you’re done. Yum!!!

*If you want to add an acidic medium to the mix to break down the phytic acid in the flour, add 1/8 c. (or 2 T.) of whey to your liquid measuring cup. Fill the rest up with water to get the 3 c. needed. Everything else about the recipe is the same.

**When I bought a covered glass baking dish, it said it was only oven-safe up to 425*. So, that’s what I use. The loaves have always turned out just fine. Weeeeell, except for that one time when I forgot to preheat the baking dishes. Then, I had a dickens of a time getting the bread out of the pans. :p

What are you baking these last days before Christmas? Let me know in the comments below! And, if you give this a whirl, please let me know what you think. 😀


9 responses to “Man may not Live by Bread Alone…

  1. […] Breakfast: French Toast Lunch: Homemade Meat and Cheese Platter, Cracker and Bread Platter, and Veggie Platter with Homemade Ranch Dressing (It’s the second dressing down – I didn’t have chives and I used 1/2 c. sour cream + 1/4 c. yogurt – it’s amazing! Add some yogurt cheese and it’s the perfect base for a veggie pizza. YUM!) Dinner: Potato Soup with Homemade Boule Bread […]

  2. […] Make bread, make breadmaker deli rolls, check […]

  3. […] Make bread, check kombucha, and pull zucchini and bacon out of the […]

  4. […] Get bread dough mixed up before bed. Soak oats for […]

  5. […] Soak bread dough, watch water kefir video. Make sunbutter. Soak dough for pita […]

  6. […] Eggs, bacon, and buttered bread Lunch: Leftover taco salads and green beans Dinner: Turkey Basmati Rice […]

  7. […] in the a.m. Take care of milk kefir grains. Thaw out peaches for breakfast. Make a double batch of bread.  Pack leftovers for N’s […]

  8. […] because my turkey recipe called for what little I had left – and jalapenos). Use day old bread. Let the bread cool, and then cube it, letting it set out over night. Make the stuffing recipe up […]

Leave a comment