Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

The Most Amazing Stuffing Ever

on November 30, 2013

I understand that this may sound like a fairly standard superlative.

I don’t care.

This stuff is SO. DOGGONE. GOOD!

And, as it was a compilation of a few recipes, I wanted to get it sketched out before I went to make it again and couldn’t remember exactly how it went. So…here it goes:

Take one Kale, Mushroom, and Sausage Stuffing recipe. Instead of the pork sausage called for in that recipe, grab a pound of ground bison and make your own sausage (leaving out the thyme – because my turkey recipe called for what little I had left – and jalapenos). Use day old bread. (If you’re using my recipe, make it up the day before. Let the bread cool, and then cube it, letting it set out over night.) Make the stuffing recipe up as it’s written, but, when you’re adding the mushrooms, also add about 1 c. of chopped raw cranberries. After the sausage mix is in the 9 x 13 and the buttered bread cubes are poured over that, scatter about a tsp. of rubbed sage, rosemary, and parsley* each over the top. Pop the stuffing in the oven, set the kitchen timer, and play the waiting game. It’s worth it. Promise.

After you pull it out of the oven, mix it up really well, smashing bread and sausage mixture together for inspired flavor mingling and then serve.

Mmm…Yup, totally making this one again.

*****************

I hope y’all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Ours was lovely – full of family, food, and fun. Here’s to a Christmas season that is filled with the peace of God and the sweet anticipation of Advent, culminating in the celebration of Christmas.

In that vein, I leave you with one of my mostest**, favoritest** Christmas songs ever:

That just leaves me teary-eyed. May the memory of those who have gone before help us to inject some sanity into this season and to deliberately trim out every unnecessary thing that we may focus on preparing our hearts and serving those around us.

Jessica

*Yeah, I know the original recipe calls for 1/4 c. of fresh herbs, and I’m only using 1 T. worth. Dried herbs are more potent so you don’t need quite as much for the same/similar effect.

**Yup. I know these aren’t “real” words. They are, however, helpful in helping to convey my vast, childlike affection for this song. 😀

2 responses to “The Most Amazing Stuffing Ever

  1. 3mart.com.au says:

    I like this article, I have reblogged this one, thanks for posting

  2. […] Scrambled eggs and banana smoothies Lunch: Leftovers Dinner: Sausage Kale stuffing (without the cranberries), broccoli/cauliflower […]

Leave a Reply

