Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Eating Down the Pantry, Day One

on January 1, 2013

Menu planning! Depending on the day, I vacillate between loving and loathing it. Generally, I’m loving it after the meals are planned out and loathing it at all times before that. 😉
In an eat down the pantry challenge, though, it’s absolutely vital to make the challenge (and desired budget cuts!) feasible. So…without further ado, here’s the week!

Tuesday, January 1

Breakfast: French Toast
Lunch: Homemade Meat and Cheese Platter, Cracker and Bread Platter, and Veggie Platter with Homemade Ranch Dressing (It’s the second dressing down – I didn’t have chives and I used 1/2 c. sour cream + 1/4 c. yogurt – it’s amazing! Add some yogurt cheese and it’s the perfect base for a veggie pizza. YUM!)
Dinner: Potato Soup with Homemade Boule Bread

Wednesday, January 2

Breakfast: Oatmeal with butter, honey, and milk
Lunch:
Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (I, ahem, bought jelly yesterday as we were totally out.)
Dinner: Slow cooker Taco Soup, subbing homemade taco seasoning for the store bought packet, frozen pintos rather than a can, and opening up a 6 lb can of whole, peeled tomatoes, using what I need and packaging/freezing the rest.

Thursday, January 3

Breakfast: Frozen banana smoothie, Citrus fruit topped with yogurt, toast
Lunch: leftover soup
Dinner:
Spaghetti with Turkey Meatballs and salad

Friday, January 4

Breakfast: Mushroom, onion, and cheese omelet, Coconut flour muffins from deep freezer
Lunch: leftover spaghetti
Dinner:
Apple sage porkchops with salad, coconut rice, and baked sweet potatoes

Saturday, January 5

Breakfast: Pancakes or waffles, chef’s choice (That would be my husband! When he was growing up, he and his brother alternated making breakfast on the weekends. I’m looking forward to passing that tradition on to our kids! 🙂
Lunch: leftovers or sandwiches
Dinner:
Homemade pizza and butternut squash fries

So far, so good. I did do some grocery shopping yesterday, but, as I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I knew that weekly updates on perishables would be apart of this.

The challenge will be incorporating more rice and legumes into our diet as my kids don’t always care for them. (Admittedly, I don’t always care that they don’t care – if it’s on the table, it’s what we’re having for dinner, like it or not. I would, however, like dinner time to be pleasant if at all possible.) We have a LOT of rice and a nice variety of beans, some of which have already been cooked and stowed in the deep freezer.

Another challenge…using up some of my weirder impulse purchases. If anyone has recipes for sardines or pepperoncini, please let me know in the comments below. Thanks in advance!  🙂

2 responses to “Eating Down the Pantry, Day One

  1. Becky Peck says:

    I have never used sardines, however I have heard they make great Caesar dressing! Just a thought! 😉

    • jboniface says:

      Oh! Caesar dressing is delicious! I’ll have to give that a whirl. Now…to figure out the pepperoncini and the bottle of grape leaves I found hiding in the back of the cupboard. Maybe I need to make pita bread and have a Greek salad/buffet? Hmm…

      I hope you and yours are feeling better, m’dear! /hug

Leave a Reply

