Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Brussels Sprouts with Walnuts and Feta – Delicious!

on April 8, 2013
Brussels Sprouts

This is oh-so-GOOD!

So…I know it may sound weird to the vast majority of the world’s population, but I absolutely LOVE Brussels Sprouts.

My husband, however, does not.

Ergo, I don’t make them that often.

Still…when I, ahem, just happened to have a bag in the freezer and I just happened to have a craving for them – well, then I just had to make them. This time, I just happened to have a bit of inspiration that had even my hardcore, Sprout-hating husband discreetly reaching for seconds.

MUAHAHAHA!

I must confess, though, that I had help. I had access to a pre-made secret ingredient*.

Brussels Sprouts with Walnuts and Feta

  • 16 oz cooked Brussels Sprouts
  • 1/3 – 1/2 c. walnut pieces (you may have to crumble them a bit to make them more bite-sized)
  • 1/3 c. of feta cheese, crumbled (buy the blocks of feta! They’re cheaper and don’t have crazy extra ingredients.)
  • Enough Sweet Onion Poppyseed Dressing* to mix in and make it all a little “wet” – basically, add enough to impart flavor, but not so much that the other ingredients are swimming in it.

Drain the water off of your cooked Sprouts and put them in your serving dish. Add the walnuts and feta. Drizzle with dressing. Stir well. Acquire a fork. Try to eat just one. Snitch another. Give in and eat half the bowl. Refrigerate the other half, contentedly knowing that you can have the rest for lunch tomorrow. ๐Ÿ˜‰

If you try it out, let me know! Even if I don’t manage to convert you to a love of Brussels Sprouts, you’ll still be glad to have a jar of this salad dressing on hand.

Also, if you have any other Sprouts recipes that I need to try out, let me know! I found three bags of fresh Sprouts marked down at our grocery store. They’re in the fridge awaiting inspiration as I write. Although…this Brussels Sprout salad looks wonderful, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time!

Jessica

*This is the most amazing salad dressing ever. Yeah, I’m biased, but it pulls together quickly, tastes good even if without poppy seeds, has inexpensive ingredients and it keeps well. Plus, well, it tastes good – really, really good! I find myself wanting to eat more salad JUST so I can have more of this dressing.


4 responses to “Brussels Sprouts with Walnuts and Feta – Delicious!

  1. […] chunks topped with yogurt and a dab of brown sugar Lunch: Leftovers Dinner: Baked Tilapia and Brussel Sprout salad (only it will be modified so I can eat it, too! Walnuts, alas, are off my plate for a […]

  2. […] much I love Kimi Harris‘s Sweet Onion Poppyseed Dressing. It features in a couple of my own creations and it truly is my FAVORITE dressing […]

  3. […] here! Dinner:ย  Turkey, green beans with bacon, sweet potatoes and peaches (my mom’s recipe), brussels sprouts salad, sweet potatoes from MIL, pumpkin pie, slab apple pie, salmon croquettes (sp?) from my […]

  4. […] Breakfast: Sourdough Pancakes and fried plantains Lunch: PB&J’s Dinner: Gluten-free breaded and fried catfish, steamed broccoli, and Brussels sprout salad […]

Leave a comment