Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Fruit and Root Chicken Soup

on October 17, 2013

As you will see (should you click through), the following creation is very roughly based off of this.  I wanted to do something a little different for dinner tonight, so, after a quick fridge perusal,  I googled “Fruit and Root Soup”. The recipe linked earlier is what came back and caught my eye. I took it and tweaked it…a lot. We didn’t have parsnips or rutabaga and I knew I wanted to add chicken and use up chicken broth, so there was no way it was going to be vegan.

While it was simmering, I whipped up a double batch of biscuits. Well…I attempted to “whip up” some biscuits. Then, I popped the lid off of the baking powder container to find that it was empty. /sigh

Thankfully, I remembered reading that you could mix up your own baking powder. To my surprise, we actually had some Cream of Tartar, so it was just a matter of measuring it and the baking soda out into the old baking powder container. The biscuits even seemed to rise a little more than usual. Works for me!

FrFruit and Root Chicken Soup

This was amazing with some quick homemade biscuits!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fruit and Root Chicken Soup

Expeller-pressed coconut oil
1 small onion, slivered
3 carrots, cut into rounds
1 potato, roughly chopped
1 med. sweet potato, roughly chopped
3/4 – 1 c. frozen cherries
3/4 – 1 c. frozen peach slices
1 1/2 c. cooked chicken pieces
3 cloves of garlic
1/2 tsp orange zest
1/2 – 3/4 tsp. cumin (we were almost out and I just dumped the rest of the jar into the pot)
garam masala, to taste ( I started with 1/2 tsp., but added more)
hot madras curry, to taste
ground allspice, to taste (I probably used about a tsp to 1 1/4 tsp after I added too much chicken broth and it diluted the flavor down more than I wanted.)
Redmond Salt, to taste
chicken broth

Directions:

Heat some oil in your stockpot. Add all of the veggies. Cover pot and let the steam cook them, stirring occasionally until they’re soft. Add the fruit and chicken. Cover again, stirring occasionally until everything is heated through. Add the garlic and spices and stir to distribute them evenly. Add enough broth to get it to your preferred soup thickness. Cover again until thoroughly heated. Taste. Adjust spices as needed*. Insert immersion blender and puree to a mostly smooth texture. Serve and enjoy.  This is REALLY, REALLY good served over the homemade biscuit recipe I linked above. (And you can always sub expeller-pressed coconut oil for the lard, should you not have any pastured lard available.)

*Because I use homemade chicken stock, I always need to add more salt than a recipe calls for. For this, however, I was trying to use up a lot of broth and I ended up needing to add a lot more of the spices to regain the flavor I so adored. It worked out, though, and my husband said that it tasted like it would come from an Indian restaurant. Woot! 😀

Leave a Reply

