Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Real Food Freezer Biscuits

on September 25, 2013

So…biscuits are making an appearance on our family table three times this week.

Yowza.

To help me NOT have to whip up the same recipe on three different days, I tried something new – for me anyway.

Freezer biscuits.

We used to buy frozen biscuits from the store, but, after reading the ingredients list a few different times (and cringing each time), I stopped. Now, we can still enjoy the convenience of biscuits,  but with the health benefits of real food.

I quadrupled this recipe on Monday, rolling and cutting out enough biscuits for Monday’s breakfast. I baked those and, after removing them from the oven, I rolled out the rest of the dough. (I only have two cookie sheets and two silpat mats…I knew I’d have to do this in batches.) I cut out all of the biscuits, laid them out on the cookie sheets and threw them in the freezer for 30 minutes.

Well…it was only meant to be for 30 minutes. When my husband got home from work that evening and went to throw his cool pack back in the deep freezer, he was shot blocked by biscuit pans and I was aghast that I’d forgotten about them that long. /blush

I put all of the biscuits into a gallon-sized freezer bag and stuck them back in the deep freezer. This morning, I pulled out the bag, plopped some of the frozen biscuits onto a cookie sheet and baked them in a 450* preheated oven for 15 minutes*. They turned out perfectly.

I’m thrilled, and thus, I’m writing to share it, not only with you, dear readers, but with my future self. This is a great time and energy saver.

Have a great day!

Jessica

*Why write a blog post based on someone else’s recipe? Well, basically it’s to report in that the freezing now/baking later process actually worked *and* to record the amount of time/temperature that I used for it to work. It’s an online post it note, if you will. 🙂

7 responses to “Real Food Freezer Biscuits

  1. Joy says:

    I am glad you shared the recipe. I am going to try it. I would like to start cooking and planning ahead. So keep sharing your menus and recipes! 🙂

  2. […] Egg and cheese biscuits Lunch: Tuna salad Dinner: Chicken stuffing […]

  3. […] Tasks:  Thaw out pintos. Pack N’s lunch. Tend to milk kefir grains. Make a quadruple batch of biscuits for freezer biscuits. […]

  4. […] Pack N’s lunch. Tend to milk kefir grains and sourdough. Make a quadruple batch of biscuits for freezer biscuits. Soak oats for […]

  5. […] lunch. Tend to milk and water kefir grains and sourdough. Make a quadruple batch of biscuits for freezer biscuits. Make fruit salad and soak oats for breakfast. Pull pita bread from the […]

  6. […] Biscuits, eggs, and breakfast meat of some sorts […]

Leave a Reply

