Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Our Upcoming Gluten- and Milk-Free Trial

on January 27, 2013

I have a confession to make.

My 2013 Reading List?

I’ve barely made a scratch in it.

I know, I know. It’s only January and I’m already off track.*

But…it’s not because I haven’t been reading – because I have. Boy, have I.

I’ve been absolutely engrossed in my reading – staying up waaaay too late to read more about a topic near and dear to my heart: the health of my children.

More specifically, how nutrition plays a key role in the health of my children – much more so than conventional medicine would lead us to believe.

I’m not going to get into cultural specifics here – there are a bazillion** other blogs out there, whose authors are much more knowledgeable than I. All I’m going to talk about is my back story and how it’s helping to write my family’s story.

Annnnnd, I’m not going to do that today.

Today, rather, I’m going to encourage you to either buy or hit up your local library for Kelly Dorfman’s AMAZING and accessible book, “What’s Eating Your Child? The Hidden Connections between Food and Childhood Ailments: Anxiety, Recurrent Ear Infections, Stomachaches, Picky Eating, Rashes, ADHD, and More. And What Every Parent Can Do About It.” (added emphasis mine)

It’s amazing because it documents her ability to rectify ongoing issues without the use of drugs and, in some cases, surgery. It’s accessible because Dorfman is clearly a teacher at heart – she takes technical concepts and breaks them down such that the non-technical can get a grasp on them and apply them to their family situation. I like that she does NOT encourage maverick behavior, but is up front about finding a physician that will partner with you to monitor your child.

Our Story, Part One

I’ve long known that something was wrong. My oldest has had ongoing, non-painful eczema; a swollen lymph node in her neck; persistent constipation – and more. My other children have some similar, but some different issues. All of this occurring despite our eating a fairly clean, mostly processed food free diet. (Yeah, I spend a lot of time in the kitchen! But, due to having more counter space in our new house, I’ve parked my laptop in the kitchen and listen to Dave Ramsey or Pandora or, if it’s after the kids are in bed, Mark Gungor.)

And so, after reading on Kelly’s book for the last several days – after countless “Wow! My kids have/do that, too!” moments, we’re going to go gluten- and dairy-free for the month of February. I’ll continue posting our meal plans – that’s been such a blessing to me – but they’ll like look very different as I navigate these unknown waters.

Any tips or recipes or advice for me as we take a turn off the beaten path? Please share them below!

*Remind me to tell you about our Hobby Lobby trip the other day. It involved my kids going nuts, multiple middle-aged disapproving women, and my lamenting to a sympathetic clerk that the women all looked like they wanted to award me the “Worst Mother of the Year” award – and with it only being January, that was pretty sad.

**Bazillion’s a number, right? It’s right after bajillion and right before gajillion. Right? 😉

7 responses to “Our Upcoming Gluten- and Milk-Free Trial

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Have you had your kids screened for food allergies? I always think that’s a good idea before embarking on drastic change. Also, I was wondering if it might be more scientific to tackle one food group at a time. Perhaps you won’t have to give up both? And if you give up dairy, is there a way to keep yogurt? I think it’s such a wonderful food with its probiotic fix and great taste…
    In any event – good luck and hope it all goes well 🙂

    • jboniface says:

      I haven’t, actually. We moved a few months ago and I’m still trying to locate a primary care doc for our family.

      However, my sister has really bad gluten issues and I have a history of lactose intolerance. So, all of the genetic possibilities for both are there for my crew. Between our genetics and what I’ve been reading about how the testing for allergies and sensitivities is an imperfect science, I’m shooting for the one definite test – remove and see what happens. As I make most of our food from scratch already, it shouldn’t be too much extra work for me (except for hunting down some new recipes) and too many new tastes for the kids.

      I absolutely am going to work to keep yogurt in our diet. My understanding is that the process of converting milk to yogurt removes the vast majority of the lactose – the beneficial bacteria consume it, leaving the probiotics.

      Thanks so much for dropping by and for your input! I got a chuckle out of your name – it’s clever! 🙂

  2. jboniface says:

    Hello, Vinny!

    From what I understand, it all depends on how long the yogurt has been cultured. There are certain brands of yogurt marketed as “lactose-free” – they’ve been cultured longer to allow the beneficial bacteria a longer time to eat all of the milk sugar.

    If your sister is lactose intolerant, this would be a great solution for her! If, however, she doesn’t tolerate the milk protein, casein, then she may want to check into coconut milk yogurt or coconut milk kefir. Both would be great sources of non-dairy probiotics for her. If she’s interested in making her own (in order to cut costs or be in total control of the culturing time period), http://www.culturesforhealth.com is a great source of starter cultures.

    I hope this helps!
    Jessica

  3. […] ← Our Upcoming Gluten- and Milk-Free Trial […]

  4. […] We finish up our month long “Eating Down the Pantry Challenge” and start our “Gluten- and Dairy-Free trial“. We’re also fighting off another cold – […]

  5. […] Finalize the list of supplements I need to order for our Gluten- and Dairy-Free trial […]

Leave a Reply

