Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Eat From the Pantry Challenge, T minus 1 Day

on December 31, 2012

So…I will admit up front that I’m getting a late start on this. I still need to menu plan, but there’s a lot to be done before I can begin.

Today, I will be making an inventory of our cupboards and all of the wildness contained therein. Rice pilaf mix that I bought years ago because it was pretty and I wanted to display it on my countertop? Check. Three boxes of canned sardines that were marked down? Check. Organic wheat kernels that I bought from Tropical Traditions over a year ago when they had a free shipping sale because I was convinced that I would be getting a grain mill soon? (Sigh.) Check.

Either today or tomorrow, I will be doing an inventory of the deep freezer. We have pounds and pounds of bananas in the deep freezer, because well…I buy them in bulk for smoothies and banana popsicles. Except that we’ve gotten out of the smoothie habit lately and they’re now taking up a ton of space in our new-to-us freezer. (Hooray for Craigslist!)

And…I must also inventory the wilderness that is our refrigerator. Radishes languishing in the produce drawer because I hate radishes, but found a thyroid-boosting recipe using radishes? Check. Unidentifiable jars of forgotten food experimentation? Check. Honey and sugar that are in there to protect them from the ants? Check. :p

After I make the inventory, I will be looking for common threads to family favorite recipes. I already know that we have four boxes of einkorn spaghetti noodles, so we’ll likely be having spaghetti weekly.

My goal for the month is to cut our grocery budget in half – and more than that if I can manage it! I know that we’ll have to buy milk, eggs, cheese, and fresh fruit/veggies weekly, but by getting a plan in place, I’m sure we can do it.

More to follow on the morrow! See you then. 😀

Leave a Reply

