Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Eat down the pantry? Pare the grocery bill? Sounds good to me!

on December 30, 2012

I’m in! How about you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One* of my 2013 goals is to start meal planning again. I’d been doing really well, but between pregnancy, juggling our new baby and three other kids, and moving, I totally fell off the wagon.

So…let’s eat down the pantry, save grocery money, and have fun at the same time! Who’s with me?

Tomorrow, let’s make an inventory of what’s actually in the pantry. If you need a nifty planning page, you can find one here. Just scroll to the bottom of the page to find it – but if you have time to read the article, please do. Crystal Paine is an amazing woman and a fabulous writer and frugality resource.

*There are many other goals floating around in my brain. I’m still working on verbalizing oodles of them and I fully expect to make bunches of them known here – accountability and all that, what, what?

Others, like starting the Couch to 5K program with my hubby tomorrow, have already been vocalized and committed to. Whee! Thank you, God, for our awesome $50 Craigslist treadmill!!!

5 responses to “Eat down the pantry? Pare the grocery bill? Sounds good to me!

  1. cashrebel says:

    You can get a treadmill on Craigslist for $50!!! That’s great, I’ll have to look into this.

    • jboniface says:

      I had been looking for awhile – you know, checking every day or so, when I found the new entry. It was listed in the same small town that we lived in at the time and they were moving and didn’t want to take it with them. They even delivered it for free! Boo-yah! 😀

      So, yes, it’s definitely possible, but it might take awhile. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. […] had this for dessert Sunday night as a part of our “Eat Down the Pantry” Challenge. I’ve had a box of arborio rice in the pantry for, ahem, a year or three. […]

  3. […] been absolutely enjoying our “Eat Down the Pantry” Challenge for multiple reasons, some of which I know I’ve mentioned […]

  4. […] is an exciting week! We finish up our month long “Eating Down the Pantry Challenge” and start our “Gluten- and Dairy-Free trial“. We’re also fighting off […]

Leave a Reply

