Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

My 2012 Reading List

on January 17, 2012

In the interests of accountability and after being inspired by Crystal of Money Saving Mom‘s success with her 2011 list, I decided that I’m going to follow suit.  😀

In addition to my desire to read through the whole of the Bible this year using this plan, each month I also want to read at least 1 non-fiction, 1 fiction and 1 of the Sitepoint books that I’ve been acquiring over the last several years. I may read more, but I don’t want to read less.  🙂

So, without further ado, I present….the list!

January:
Nonfiction: Finish up Entreleadership by Dave Ramsey
Fun/Fiction: Freckles by Gene Stratton (This is being loaned to me and I need to read so I can return!)  🙂
Tech: HTML Utopia: Designing without Tables Using CSS by Rachel Andrew & Dan Schafer

February:
Nonfiction:
The Money Saving Mom’s Budget: Slash Your Spending, Pay Down Your Debt, Streamline Your Life, and Save Thousands a Year by Crystal Paine
Fun/Fiction: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (Another loaner that I need to read to be able to return.)
Tech: The Principles of Beautiful Web Design, 2nd Ed. by Jason Beaird

March:  So…as I’m having a baby at the end of February, I’m giving myself a pass here. As long as I keep up with my Bible reading, I’ll be a happy camper.
Nonfiction:
Fun/Fiction:
Tech:

April:
Nonfiction: Boundaries by Cloud and Townsend
Fun/Fiction: The Screwtape Letters by C. S. Lewis
Tech: Build Your Own Database Driven Website with PHP and MySQL by Kevin Baird

May:
Nonfiction: Seven Secrets Women Want to Know by P.B. Wilson (I’ve read this before, but it’s been a long time, so I’d like to re-read it. Her book “Liberated Through Submission” is amazing, too!)
Fun/Fiction: Tramp for the Lord by Corrie ten Boom – I love, Love, LOVE her book “The Hiding Place” – she’s such an inspiration.
Tech: Build Your Own Wicked WordPress Themes by Allan Cole, Raena Jackson Armitage, Brandon R. Jones and Jeffrey Way

June:
Nonfiction: Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption by Katie Davis
Fiction: The Emily Trilogy by L.M. Montgomery (Emily of New Moon, Emily Climbs, Emily’s Quest)
Tech: The Principles of Project Management by Meri Williams

July:
Nonfiction: Prophetic Worship by Vivian Hibbert
Fun/Fiction: A Foreign Devil in China: The Story of Dr. L. Nelson Bell by John Pollock
Tech:  Online Marketing Inside Out by Brandon Eley & Shayne Tilley

August:
Nonfiction: Good to Great by Jim Collins (I absolutely loved this the first time I read it…back in 2005. Time to re-read!)
Fun/Fiction: Making Children Mind Without Losing Yours by Dr. Kevin Leman
Tech: The Art & Science of CSS by Jonathan Snook, Steve Smith, Jina Bolton, Cameron Adams, and David Johnson

September:
Nonfiction: The Ten Habits of Happy Mothers: Reclaiming our Passion, Purpose and Sanity by Dr. Meg Meeker
Fun/Fiction: Cure Tooth Decay by Ramiel Nagel  – Yes…this sounds like a fun read to me – laugh all you like.  ;D
Tech: HTML5 and CSS3 for the Real World by Alexis Goldstein, Louis Lazaris & Estelle Weyl

October:
Nonfiction: One Thousand Gifts by Anne VosKamp (After buying it twice and giving it away both times, I’m finally going to read it! Anne’s blog is amazing and oozes with the grace and poetry of communion with Christ – I just had to share it.)
Fun/Fiction: Letters from the Land of Cancer by Walter Wangerin Jr. (If you’ve never read his book Ragman and Other Cries of Faith – do yourself a favor and read it. Ah-mazing!)
Tech: The CSS Anthology by Rachel Andrew – I’m not sure if this is the same edition as the one that I have…we’ll see.

November:
Nonfiction: Do It Gorgeously: How to Make Less Toxic, Less Expensive, and More Beautiful Products by Sophia Uliano (Just in time to be able to make some Christmas presents, eh? 😉
Fun/Fiction: Organized Simplicity by Tsh Oxenreider
Tech: Create Stunning HTML email that Just Works by Matthew Patterson

December:
Nonfiction: Loving God with All Your Mind by Elizabeth George
Fun/Fiction: The Kingdom Agenda by Tony Evans
Tech: Sexy Web Design by Elliot Jay Stocks  (Uh…yeah. This is about developing well-designed user interfaces. Really.)

Want to make your own reading list? Here’s a link to the printout I downloaded from the Money Saving Mom website.


3 responses to “My 2012 Reading List

  1. shelly says:

    wow, and you have children? and homeschool? i haven’t read more than a book every couple of months, since my second child was born! other than the bible. and our family reading that we do together. what on earth is your secret to having this much time on your hands?

    • jboniface says:

      This is a target that I’m hoping to hit. We’ll see. Here’s to posting for accountability! 🙂

      We’re not officially schooling yet. It’s more of a “whatever comes up through the day” approach at this point. Also, we have a pretty firm 7:30 p.m. bedtime, so I have several hours after they’re in bed to read or clean or whatever I’m able to do at the time. I even bought my brother-in-law’s old Kindle to help me work through my web development books. 😀 (If I’m going to keep buying them [they’re on sale, but still!], I really need to actually read them. Plus, if I’m ever going to do the WAHM-thing, I think that would be a good area for me to work in.)

      I still need to get a SCOBY to you (and come over and spy on your sourdough)! I just ordered some dairy and water kefir grains – very excited about them! I’m looking forward to being able to get some probiotics that are okay for my pregnant self to be ingesting. 🙂

  2. […] year, I posted my desired reading list. I was, as I am now, in an itchy, “I can do more with my time if I will just be […]

Leave a Reply

