Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Recently written Jess songs

on June 26, 2011

So…the last two Sundays have actually been Songdays for me.

The first one I started singing in the car on my way to pick a lady up for church. I kept singing it over and over and over and over and, well, over, to try to lock it into my brain before I got to her house and needed to start conversing. Apparently, it’s chock full of minor chords – which is no surprise to me since I was singing the opening song to Prince of Egypt every time I had the chance.

Centered

To be centered in Christ Jesus is my heart’s desire,
Filled from within by the Holy Spirit’s fire.
Filled with compassion and my Father’s love
To be made over in the image of
My Lord.

So…okay, it’s not a full song. It’s  more of a verse or a chorus or…I don’t know. But the melody is sticky and has adhered to my brain.  🙂

The second song was written before we left the house last Sunday. I’d gotten the kids into the van and words kept pouring out of my pen, even as my three year old was yelling at me that it was time to go. /snicker

I explained that Mommy needed to write before driving, because she couldn’t write while driving. This temporarily placated her. You know…temporary to a three year old is about 72 seconds – if that long. So, this was penned while behind the steering wheel, buckled up and sitting in our driveway.

Faith Enough to Follow

Chorus:
I need faith enough to follow You
Faith enough to follow You
Faith enough to follow
Faith not to wallow
Faith enough to lay down my pride
I can’t do life without You by my side

Verse:
Another gray day again
Where my eyes and my heart agree
Life doesn’t seem worth living
Hearts are hard and unforgiving
And no one has a second look for me

But your words are different
And sweet to my ears
They warm my heart
And allay all my fears
I know in my head
And I’m telling my heart
That I am not alone.
Give me (faith enough to follow you)  (proceed on to rest of chorus)

So…yeah. Obviously, it had been a rough morning, where my faith felt more like the mustard seed than the mustard tree. Still, it’s amazing what perspective a week of cooldown on the “latest, greatest song I’ve ever written” brings. I’m already critiquing and remembering a blog post I read earlier in the week that compared most Christian music to poorly written “Top 40” love songs. I could see that – especially in the second one. Still, in the interest of transparency (and getting another post up! hehe…I’ve challenged myself to keep it up), I figured I’d go ahead and post them, adding revisions as they occur, and welcoming revisions from my loyal peanut gallery. (That’s you, by the way!)  😀

We recently had a guest pastor who challenged us to move forward in the gifts God had placed within us. I’ve been stifling this one for a long time – although, stifling isn’t really the best word here…it’s more like I was “not sharing” this one for a long time. I had shared some songs in the past and while they were positively received by a few, they were not well-received by others. I allowed that to turn me inward in this area and build up a deposit of wounded pride. I was “wallowing”, if you will, and needed “faith enough to lay down my pride”.  So, maybe the second song is just for me – a reminder to trust in God and not in man.

(Remember how I mentioned that writing is rather therapeutic for me? It’s an adventure in self-discovery as I have to slow down long enough to form thoughts and sentences and verbalize them. I thank God for this gift! I would be really, really messy on the inside without this down time.

31 But those who wait on the LORD
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint. (Isaiah 40:31, NKJV)

Writing forces me to wait…something that’s extremely difficult for me. Not only because of my sanguine nature, but also because I am busy being a wife and a mommy and all of the other hats that I wear on a regular basis. Thankfully, the melancholic part of my nature helps with actually digging in and writing when I get to that point. heh…ironically, I need to stop writing at this point as 5:30 will come awfully early in the morning.)

May God bless you, my reader, and help you live out His word, in spirit and in truth.

 4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:4-7, NIV) (emphasis mine)

Keep in mind, if you will rejoice in God no matter what your circumstances look like, resisting the anxiousness that would seek to nip at your heels, His peace will guard your heart and your mind in Christ Jesus.* It says that His peace “transcends” or surpasses understanding. What a testimony of the grace and power of our God, when we, as His sons and daughters, can have peace in the midst of difficult circumstances!

But, yes, to bed I must go. Must. stop. writing.  ;D

Be blessed and don’t forget to critique/offer revisions!

Jess    😀

*When I was recently re-reading this, the word ‘guard’ jumped out at me. The picture that came to mind was of the angel that God set to guard Eden with the flaming sword. His peace will guard us if we can rejoice and trust him with every situation and circumstance. How cool is that! Truly, our God is a mighty God!

Leave a Reply

