Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Hummus!

on June 8, 2011

So…this is for my dear friend, Cecilia, the Frugal Frau.

Oh…if only I had a picture to help convey the sheer yumminess of this recipe. Soon, soon! (Like, probably tomorrow.)    😉

Here is the original recipe from active.com.

Here are my modifications:  (because…well…there *have* to be modifications – what fun is there in making a recipe the way it’s written?)   😀

  • The beans don’t have to be great northern. I made this with pintos and it was fabulous. Tomorrow, I’ll be making it with garbanzos. I’ll report back as to how it goes.
  • I don’t use the soy sauce. I’ve been reading some disturbing things about soy that’s not properly fermented and then there’s the whole GMO-soy debate.
  • The last two times, I have not used the checca recipe. Instead I added some of Tomato Chutney by Kerala Curry. (I stumbled upon this at Amazing Savings in Asheville – I ❤ that store!) Nathan actually prefers it with the chutney instead of the checca.
  • When I have made the checca, it’s not always been to the recipe specs. Once I made it normally; the next time I used a combination of sundried tomatoes in olive oil with tomato pesto and fiddled around with the other ingredients. That iteration was absolutely amazing.

You don’t have to have pita chips; it’s equally awesome with tortilla chips or fresh veggies: sugar snap peas, carrots, celery, etc.

Do you have a favorite hummus/veggie dip recipe? What does it look like? Please share!

Leave a Reply

