Jessica's Jottings:

On faith, food, family and frugality

Homemade Hot Dog Buns

on July 31, 2012

So…my kids LOVE hotdogs. L-O-V-E them. They’re pretty expensive, though, so we don’t eat them very often.

And…as I like to buy bread in bulk and throw it in the freezer until it’s needed, I’ve just not had a lot of success with hot dog buns. They always seem to be either really dry or really soggy. I’ve thrown out more than I’m comfortable admitting. /blush  😦

Enter Life as Mom‘s Good Cheap Eats blog and her Homemade Hamburger/Hot dog bun recipe.  The bread maker does all of the hard work, so all you have to do is shape, wait, and bake.  (For the record…I’ve never added vital wheat gluten and this last batch was made with unbleached, all-purpose flour instead of special bread flour.)

They were absolutely delicious!

Homemade Hot dog buns, fresh out of the oven

Don’t believe me? Check out my taste testers!

Cassie giving a thumbs up

Mom, are you seriously taking my picture again?

Sarah votes yes!

I like them, too!

Rafe giving a "thumbs up"...or not.

Hey, he’s two. He gets props for trying. 🙂

What did I think of them? See the tasty “breadstick” below. I, ahem, had two.

I think that next time, I’ll make six buns and about twelve breadsticks!

Mama had breadsticks!

Cut in half with some butter and garlic salt, it served as an out of this world breadstick!

These were super easy and we will definitely be making them again! 🙂

Gotta favorite bread machine recipe? Please share!


3 responses to “Homemade Hot Dog Buns

  1. […] Make bread, make breadmaker deli rolls, check […]

  2. […] Homemade Sandwich Rolls (I figured I’d also buy some different kinds of deli meats and cheeses). […]

  3. […] Tend to milk and water kefir grains and sourdough. Make loads of sandwich rolls. Cook pork shoulder in crockpot for BBQ sandwiches for boys. Bake the apple […]

Leave a comment